Our Latest News

Richardsons Beach wins clean beach award

11/11/2014

Richardsons Beach, one of Freycinet National Park's many beautiful beaches, was the Overall Winner of the Keep Australia Beautiful Tasmania Clean Beaches awards this year.More

Arthur-Pieman tracks to re-open

10/11/2014

By Christmas this year, recreational off-road vehicle drivers will be able to access the full length of the Arthur-Pieman Conservation Area from the Arthur River in the north to the Pieman River in the south.More

Bruny Island Quarantine Station - now open five days a week

13/10/2014

The Wildcare Inc Friends of the Bruny Island Quarantine Station and the Parks and Wildlife Service (PWS) are pleased to announce the Quarantine Station will be open five days a week from 10am to 4pm over the summer months.More

Historic Heritage

Visitor's Guide to Tasmania's Historic Places

Eagle Hawk Neck Kangaroo Bluff Battery Maria Island Lisdillion Salt Works Freycinet Mt Field Sarah Island Ross Female Factory Highfield East Pillinger Adamsfield Waldheim Chalet Shot Tower Cape Bruny Lighthouse The Steppes Richmond Gaol Low Head Light Station and Pilot Station Mt Nelson Signal Station Lyons Cottage
ImageMap of Historic Sites

Tasmania has a rich cultural heritage and many of Tasmania's historic sites are open to the public. Don't miss the opportunity to visit such sites to gain a better understanding of the places and events that have shaped the community we are today.

  • Adamsfield

    Once a thriving osmiridium mining settlement, Adamsfield today lies abandoned with scattered relicts.

  • Cape Bruny Lighthouse

    First lit in 1838 Cape Bruny Lighthouse is second oldest and longest continually staffed existing lighthouse.

  • Coal Mines

    The Coal Mines Historic Site, situated on the Tasman Peninsula, was Tasmania's first operational mine.

  • Entally House Historic Site

    Entally Estate is one of the finest historic homes in Tasmania, set in grand park-like surroundings with magnificent gardens, a vineyard and historic outbuildings.

  • Eaglehawk Neck

    The Eaglehawk Neck Historic Site offers visitors a unique perspective upon a security system which operated during the convict period.

  • East Pillinger

    In the very early 1900s, East Pillinger was a bustling port town. Today, the wilderness has reclaimed much of its former glory.

  • Freycinet

    Old mine shafts, abandoned farmers' huts and the remains of whalers' camps today form part of the rich cultural heritage of Freycinet.

  • Highfield Historic Site

    Highfield House can be regarded as the 'birthplace' of European settlement in Tasmania's north-west.

  • Kangaroo Bluff Battery

    At the time of first European settlement, it was thought that mutually supporting batteries on both sides of the Derwent could turn Hobart Town into a fortress.

  • Lisdillion Salt Works

    The Lisdillon salt works is one of only two early salt manufacture works in eastern Australia where substantial remains can still be found.

  • Low Head Light Station and Pilot Station

    Constructed in 1833, the Low Head Light Station was the third to be established in Australia, while he Low Head Pilot Station comprise the earliest surviving pilot buildings in Australia.

  • Lyons Cottage Historic Site

    Lyons Cottage was the early home of the Honourable Joseph Aloysius (Joe) Lyons - the only Tasmanian Prime Minister ever elected.

  • Maria Island

    Maria Island has undergone many phases of settlement, leaving a complex, but intriguing legacy of historic heritage.

  • Mt Direction Historic Site

    The Mount Direction Semaphore Station was one of a number of stations set up in the Tamar Valley during the mid-nineteenth century.

  • Mt Field

    Tasmania's first nature reserve was created around Russell Falls in 1885 and the national park, along with Freycinet, it is the oldest in Tasmania.

  • Mt Nelson Signal Station

    Built in 1811, Mt Nelson Signal Station played an important role in reporting maritime traffic in both Hobart and Port Arthur.

  • Richmond Gaol

    Richmond gaol is the oldest, still intact, gaol in Australia, predating the penal colony at Port Arthur by five years.

  • Ross Female Factory

    Ross Female Factory Site, built in the early 1840's, incarcerated female convicts from 1847 to 1854.

  • Sarah Island

    Sarah Island Historic Site is Tasmania's oldest convict settlement, operating from 1822 to 1833.

  • Shot Tower

    Standing 48 metres tall and built in 1870 for the purpose of producing lead shot, the Shot Tower is the only remaining circular sandstone shot tower in the world.

  • The Steppes

    On the border of Tasmania's Central Plateau, the Steppes was the home of highland graziers since 1863.

  • Toll House

    The Toll House was constructed in 1841 in conjunction with the first bridge built across the Derwent River.

  • Waldheim Chalet

    Waldheim Chalet offers an insight into the early history of the Cradle Mountain area and the people instrumental in the establishment of the Cradle Mountain - Lake St Clair National Park.

Further Information

Port Arthur Historic Site

The popular Port Arthur Historic Site is managed by the Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority.