The Bay of Fires on Tasmania’s East Coast extends from Binalong Bay in the south to Eddystone Point in the north.
This unusual name was given to the area by Captain Tobias Furneaux, in 1773, when he noticed numerous fires along the coast. This led him to believe that the country was densely populated. Abundant evidence of this occupation by Aboriginal people can be seen along the coast today.
A scenic view of the bay can be glimpsed by driving along the coast to The Gardens. This picturesque area was named by Lady Jane Franklin, the wife of Governor John Franklin, who spent some time in the region.
Sections of the Reserve (1210 ha)
The northern section of the Bay, from north of the outlet of Ansons Bay to Eddystone Point lies within the Mt William National Park.
The middle section of the Bay of Fires lies in the vicinity of Ansons Bay. It can be accessed via Policemans Point or the northern shore of Ansons Bay, however be aware that it is not possible to cross the outlet of Ansons Bay.
The southern section of The Bay of Fires is in the Conservation Area, situated along a 13 km stretch of coast between Binalong Bay and The Gardens.
A wide range of activities are able to be pursued in the Bay of Fires area, including camping, beach activities, boating, bird watching, fishing, swimming, surfing and walking.
Please be aware that Aboriginal middens (shell and bone deposits) are found in the sand dunes. Please do not disturb these protected sites.
Detailed maps for this area are the 1:100,000 series, Georges Bay and 1:25,000 series, Ansons Bay, The Gardens and Binalong.