Our Latest News

New walking experience for the Three Capes Track

13/05/2016

Three Capes Lodge Walk Pty Ltd, owned by the principles of the Tasmanian Walking Company (TWC) Rob Sherrard and Brett Godfrey, were successful in their bid for the new walking experience after an Expression of Interest process was advertised.More

New Parks Advisory Committee members

10/05/2016

Four new members have been appointed to the National Parks and Wildlife Advisory Council, following an Expression of Interest process.More

Congratulations to Working on Country graduates

22/04/2016

A partnership program between the Tasmanian Government and the Australian Government has seen four Working on Country Aboriginal rangers gain professional qualifications in land management.More

Maria Island

Introduction

Official opening of cement works in 1924

Darlington Convict Settlement c. 1830
(Allport Library and Museum of Fine Arts)

Maria Island has undergone many changes since the first crude camps of whalers and sealers were set up on its shores in the early 1800s. The now tranquil island has been, amongst other things, a setting for convict stations, a stronghold for the varied enterprises of Italian entrepreneur Diego Bernacchi, and a base for the National Portland Cement Company.

Each layer of history has left its mark on the island's landscape. Structures have been erected, altered, re-used and demolished in each phase of settlement, leaving a complex, but intriguing legacy of historic heritage.

Further information on Maria Island can be found at our Visitors Guide to Tasmania's National Parks.


World Heritage Listed Darlington Probation Station

The significance of the convict probation era at Darlington was recognised recently as part of the 11 Australian Convict Sites World Heritage Property. (PDF 2.2 Mb)

Darlington is the most representative and intact example of a probation station in Australia. Its 14 convict buildings and ruins are preserved in a layout that reflects the key features of  the probation system in Van Diemen’s Land. The site has remained relatively unchanged since the convict era.