'North View of Eaglehawk Neck'
(Courtesy of George Brown Esq.)
The Eaglehawk Neck Historic Site offers visitors a unique perspective upon the security system which operated throughout the Tasman and Forestier Peninsulas during the convict period. The infamous dogline which ran across the Neck was devised to prevent the escape of prisoners from Port Arthur, while a semaphore station provided communication with the rest of the peninsula.
The system proved quite effective in achieving its purpose; however, it was not enough to prevent the escape of the infamous Martin Cash, who was to become one of Tasmania's best-known bushrangers.
Today, the only building which survives is the Officers' Quarters, erected in 1832. It is thought to be the oldest timber military building in Australia. The building has been restored and now acts as a museum and interpretation centre. Don't miss the opportunity to spend a little time in the Officer's Quarters to discover the remarkable history of the Eaglehawk Neck Historic Site.