Our Latest News

Southwest ecological burns important for orange-bellied parrot conservation


Planned ecological burns in Southwest National Park will help regenerate important habitat areas for the critically endangered orange-bellied parrot.More

Upgraded Julius River bridges improve visitor access


Bridge upgrades at the Julius River Regional Reserve are now complete.More

Viewing platform upgrades for Rocky Cape's Aboriginal heritage sites


Two viewing platforms have been replaced as part of visitor facility improvements at Rocky Cape National Park on the North-West Coast. The platforms are at the Lee Archer Cave and South Cave sites, which have highly significant Aboriginal heritage values.More

World class advice on Tasmanian wilderness


The Minister for Tourism, Arts and the Environment, Paula Wriedt, has welcomed the appointment of respected conservationist Michael Lynch to the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area Consultative Committee (TWWHACC).

The committee provides advice to the Tasmanian and Australian Governments on the protection, conservation, presentation and management of the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area (TWWHA).

"It is a real coup to have Michael on board and reinforces the Tasmanian Government's commitment to protecting this special place," Ms Wriedt said.

Mr Lynch, the current chair of the Tasmanian Heritage Council and a past director of the Tasmanian Conservation Trust for more than a decade, is one of four new faces on the committee.

The other appointments are Larni Gibson from the adventure tourism sector, Hank Horton from the Aboriginal community and trade unionist Michael Swanton.

"Our membership is broad-based and represents the scientific and Aboriginal community, conservation and recreational interests, local government, industry and tourism," TWWHA Consultative Committee chair Malcolm Wells said.

The committee was formed in 1985 as part of management arrangements for the Wilderness World Heritage Area and reports to a council of Ministers from the Tasmanian and Australian Governments.

The full membership of the committee is: Malcolm Wells (Chair), Kim Creak (Forest Industries Representative), Ian Braid (Local Government Representative), Simon Cubit (Established Practices Representative), Ashley Artis (Independent Angler Representative), Jamie Kirkpatrick (Ecologist), Helen Dunn (Land and Water Scientist), Julie Marshall (Tourism Representative), Helen Pryor (Independent Conservationist), John Cannon (Bushwalking Representative), Geoff Luscombe (External World Heritage Area Manager), Michael Lynch (Conservation Advocate), Larni Gibson (Adventure Tourism Representative), Michael Swanton, (Trade Union Representative), Hank Horton (Aboriginal Community Representative).