Our Latest News

Celebrating the achievements of landcarers


The Tamar Island Wetland Cares Volunteer Group has been recognised in the 2017 Landcare Tasmania Awards.More

Horsetail Falls walk now open


Visitors to the West Coast are in for some spectacular views on the new Horsetail Falls walk near Queenstown.More

Bruny Island Neck lookout re-opens


The walkways and lookout at the Bruny Island Neck will re-open to the public today, following the completion of a new, larger car park that will provide improved access to the popular lookout.More

New look advisory council begins work


Respected transport economist and environmental management lecturer Bob Cotgrove is the new chair of the National Parks and Wildlife Advisory Council (NPWAC).

Mr Cotgrove, already a member of the council, has taken over from retiring chair Dr Rowena Bell.

"I'm determined to do a good job as chair and look forward to working closely with everyone at the Parks and Wildlife Service (PWS)," Mr Cotgrove said.

The advisory council is the peak state-wide community advisory body for matters relevant to the functions of Tasmania's national parks and reserves, providing strategic advice to the Minister.

"The members provide an independent view of Tasmania's parks and reserves - which account for 40 percent of the State. As a result I highly value the advice they provide," said Ms Wriedt.

The council also has two new members in Simon Stubbs from Coles Bay and John Watts from Georgetown.

Simon is well known as the operator of Freycinet Adventures eco-tourism business while John is an active and long-serving volunteer on a range of PWS projects.

"Bob's wide-ranging experience will continue Rowena's strong leadership and Simon and John will add new perspectives in crucial areas," said Ms Wriedt.

The full membership of the council is: Bob Cotgrove (chair), Michael Lockwood, Kay Bailey, Wendy Horniblow, Andrea Henderson, Ross Britton, Simon Stubbs and John Watts.