Our Latest News

New lease of life for original lighthouse vents


As part of the ongoing conservation of the Cape Bruny and Maatsuyker Island lighthouses, a team effort has been underway to restore the original bronze vents from the lighthouses' lantern rooms.More

Record visitor numbers at Highfield Historic Site


Visitation numbers at Highfield Historic Site in Stanley have reached a record high, with 12,535 people visiting in the 12 months ending March 2018.More

Cradle Mountain shuttle bus tender awarded


A new bus fleet featuring environmentally friendly technology and vehicles with improved accessibility and increased capacity will help to meet increasing visitor numbers following the awarding of the tender to McDermott Coaches.More

Comments invited for Russell Falls draft site plan


The Parks and Wildlife Service is seeking public comment on a new draft site plan that will guide the Russell Falls Visitor Service Zone over the next 10 years.

The Minister for Environment, Parks and Heritage, Michelle O'Byrne, said the plan looks at ways to reinvigorate the camping and day use facilities in the popular Mt Field National park site.

"The Russell Falls Visitor Service Zone is one of Tasmania's most popular national park destinations with more than 100,000 visitors a year.

"It has played an important role in the history of the idea of protected natural areas in Tasmania, and has been a place of relaxation and recreation for Tasmanians and visitors for well over 100 years," Ms O'Byrne said.

The three main proposals of the site plan are: to reinvigorate the camping and day use areas including campground extension and provision of cycling / pedestrian loop around the day area, reopen the historic Belchers Track between the visitor centre and the Tall Trees Walk, and support social and cultural events in the day use area.

The plan and online survey can be downloaded at www.parks.tas.gov.au. Hard copies can be collected from Service Tasmania, 134 Macquarie Street, or the Mt Field Visitors Centre. Comments are required by 24 August 2009.