The Tasmanian State Flag is raised every day at the Mt Nelson Signal Station (Photo by Steve Johnson)
Built in 1811, the signal station at Mt Nelson was the first to be constructed in Tasmania. Today, Mount Nelson Signal Station offers an fascinating insight into the history of the early colony. Informative panels describe the process of semaphore signaling, station life and the role the station played in report shipping, initially for the Port of Hobart and later for both Hobart and Port Arthur.
The station offers visitors beautiful views over the city and mouth of the Derwent River. There is a picnic area nearby with unsheltered picnic tables and BBQs. The lookouts and adjacent café are wheelchair accessible, as are the toilets next to the carpark. The adjoining Bicentennial Park (managed by Hobart City Council) and Truganini Conservation Area both have extensive walking tracks.
A cafe and restaurant offers visitors a magnificent view over Storm Bay and beyond while enjoying a meal. For information about the restaurant and cafe see www.thestationcafe.com.au.