Our Latest News

Celebrating the achievements of landcarers


The Tamar Island Wetland Cares Volunteer Group has been recognised in the 2017 Landcare Tasmania Awards.More

Horsetail Falls walk now open


Visitors to the West Coast are in for some spectacular views on the new Horsetail Falls walk near Queenstown.More

Bruny Island Neck lookout re-opens


The walkways and lookout at the Bruny Island Neck will re-open to the public today, following the completion of a new, larger car park that will provide improved access to the popular lookout.More

NCA Reserves

1,357 parcels of land across Tasmania, totalling 78,000 hectares, were recommended for reservation under the Nature Conservation Act 2002. The majority of parcels were assessed as suitable for reservation as Conservation Areas, some of the larger tracts of land were recommended as Regional Reserves and a lesser number in other reserve classes. A single reserve may be made up of a number of land parcels so the total number of reserves will be fewer than the number of properties recommended for reservation.

All recommendations received Cabinet endorsement during 2005 and 2006.

Reserves are created under the Act by proclamation of the Governor and thereafter become the management responsibility of the Parks and Wildlife Service.

Reservation under the Nature Conservation Act 2002 (NCA)

There are eight different reserve classes under the Nature Conservation Act 2002. These reserve classes are Conservation Areas, Nature Recreation Areas, Regional Reserves, Game Reserves, Historic Sites, State Reserves, National Parks and Nature Reserves. For further detail regarding the values, purposes and objectives of NCA reserve classes, click on the following link:

NCA reserve classes and their values, purposes and objectives

Details of progress in implementing CLAC recommendations

To check progress and find the details of which areas have been reserved in each municipality, click on the links below:

Break O'Day Devonport Kentish Southern Midlands
Brighton Dorset Kingborough Tasman
Burnie Flinders King Island Waratah Wynyard
Central Coast George Town Latrobe West Coast
Central Highlands Glamorgan Spring Bay Launceston West Tamar
Circular Head Glenorchy Meander Valley  
Clarence Hobart Northern Midlands  
Derwent Valley Huon Valley Sorell  

For further information

Contact: Crown Land Services

Crown Land Services Branch
GPO Box 44
Hobart TAS 7001
Phone: (03) 6233 6413
Fax: (03) 6173 0226
Email: CLS.Enquiries@parks.tas.gov.au