Our Latest News

Celebrating the achievements of landcarers

04/12/2017

The Tamar Island Wetland Cares Volunteer Group has been recognised in the 2017 Landcare Tasmania Awards.More

Horsetail Falls walk now open

15/11/2017

Visitors to the West Coast are in for some spectacular views on the new Horsetail Falls walk near Queenstown.More

Bruny Island Neck lookout re-opens

10/11/2017

The walkways and lookout at the Bruny Island Neck will re-open to the public today, following the completion of a new, larger car park that will provide improved access to the popular lookout.More

Waldheim Chalet

Introduction

Waldheim in the winter of 2007

Waldheim in the winter of 2007
(Photo by Ben Hill)

Waldheim Chalet provides visitors with an insight into the early history of the Cradle Mountain area and the people who played a pivotal role in the establishment of the Cradle Mountain - Lake St Clair National Park. Gustav and Kate Weindorfer built the rustic home and guest chalet in 1912, naming it Waldheim, meaning "forest home".

Waldheim Chalet continued to be used for accommodation until 1974, when it became clear that the chalet was becoming structurally unsound. In 1976 Waldheim was demolished. The replica, rebuilt in 1976 using traditional bush carpentry techniques, is made from shingles split from King Billy pine, and is an accurate reconstruction of the chalet as it had appeared at the time of Gustav's death in 1932.

Waldheim is no longer used for accommodation, although the nearby Waldheim cabins offer accommodation. A visual and audio display inside Waldheim details the rich history of the chalet and the colourful lives of Gustav and Kate Weindorfer.