Our Latest News

Visitor safety under the spotlight in new walker safety video

16/04/2018

Visitor safety in Tasmania's national parks and reserves has received a major investment with a suite of projects, including a new feature video on bushwalking preparation and safety.More

Draft Frenchmans Cap Recreation Zone Plan 2018

12/04/2018

The Parks and Wildlife Service has released the Draft Recreation Zone Plan 2018 for the Frenchmans Cap area.More

Redeveloped Lake Tahune Hut now open

12/04/2018

A locally designed and built, energy-efficient and sustainable hut is now welcoming bushwalkers at Lake Tahune on the Frenchmans Cap Track in the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area.More

Eaglehawk Neck

Introduction

North View of Eaglehawk Neck

'North View of Eaglehawk Neck'
(Courtesy of George Brown Esq.)

The Eaglehawk Neck Historic Site offers visitors a unique perspective upon the security system which operated throughout the Tasman and Forestier Peninsulas during the convict period. The infamous dogline which ran across the Neck was devised to prevent the escape of prisoners from Port Arthur, while a semaphore station provided communication with the rest of the peninsula.

The system proved quite effective in achieving its purpose; however, it was not enough to prevent the escape of the infamous Martin Cash, who was to become one of Tasmania's best-known bushrangers.

Today, the only building which survives is the Officers' Quarters, erected in 1832. It is thought to be the oldest timber military building in Australia. The building has been restored and now acts as a museum and interpretation centre. Don't miss the opportunity to spend a little time in the Officer's Quarters to discover the remarkable history of the Eaglehawk Neck Historic Site.