Our Latest News

Encounter Maria Island


Encounter Maria Island's new ferry Osprey V, that will allow even more visitors to enjoy one of the State's best tourism attractions, was launched today.More

Progress on Cradle Mountain Master Plan


An important milestone in the Cradle Mountain Master Plan project has been reached following a competitive tender process, with Cumulus Studio chosen to design the Cradle Mountain gateway precinct and the Dove Lake viewing shelter.More

Exciting new proposal for Tasmania's South East Cape


Award-winning local tourism operator Ian Johnstone can now progress a new project to lease and licence negotiations under the Tourism Opportunities in Tasmania's National Parks, Reserves and Crown Land process.More

Background Notes 1c

1c Tasmania's protected places

Map of Tasmanian reserves

In Tasmania we have over 432 protected areas. Different types of parks provide different levels of protection depending on what pressures they face.

You can find out about the different categories below:

National Parks are a large natural area of land containing a representative or outstanding sample of a major natural region(s), features or scenery. The area is protected to:

  • conserve natural biological diversity
  • conserve geological diversity
  • preserve the quality of water and protect catchments
  • conserve sites or areas of cultural significance
  • encourage education based on the purpose of reservation and the natural or cultural values of the national park
  • encourage research
  • protect the national park against, and rehabilitate it following, impacts such as fire, introduced species, diseases and soil erosion
  • encourage and provide for tourism, recreational use and enjoyment consistent with the conservation of the park's natural and cultural values
  • encourage cooperative management programs with Aboriginal people in areas of significance to them
  • preserve the natural, primitive and remote character of wilderness areas.

State Reserves contain significant natural landscapes, natural features and/or sites, objects or places of significance to Aboriginal people. They include national parks.

Nature Reserves (includes Marine Reserves) contain natural values that contribute to the natural biological diversity or geological diversity of the area, and are unique, important or have representative value.

Conservation Areas are predominantly in a natural state, but mining, and in some cases, hunting, may be permitted.

Game Reserves have natural values that are unique, important or have representative value, particularly for game species.

Historic Sites are significant for historic cultural heritage.

Nature Recreation Areas are predominantly in a natural state, or contain sensitive natural sites of significance for recreation.

Regional Reserves have high mineral potential or prospectivity, and are predominantly in a natural state.

Going Further

The Parks and Wildlife Service also assists in protecting private land that is declared as Private Nature Reserves, Private Sanctuaries and Areas Covenanted for Conservation in Perpetuity. Details of these reserves are available on our complete listing of reserves [PDF 236KB].

There are other protected areas within Tasmania that are managed by authorities other than the Parks and Wildlife Service. For details of other reserves and parks in Tasmania, see the web site of the relevant managing authority: